The stages of sigmund s freud theory

Totemism originates from the memory of an event in pre-history where the male group members eat the father figure due to a desire for the females. Although the ego does not know the difference between right and wrong, it is aware that not all drives can be met at a given time.

The libido contains conceptual, Platonic, erotic and sexual components. Freud stressed that the first five years of life are crucial to the formation of adult personality. Freud's work on defense mechanisms focused on how the ego defends itself against internal events or impulses, which are regarded as unacceptable to one's ego.

Yet, if the parents make immoderate demands of the child, by over-emphasizing toilet training, it might lead to the development of a compulsive personalitya person too concerned with neatness and order. The process whereby the underlying wish is translated into the manifest content is called dreamwork.

As a person grows physically certain areas of their body become important as sources of potential frustration erogenous zonespleasure or both.

Slips expose our true thoughts stored in the unconscious. It is believed that these people may focus on activities that involve the mouth such as over eating, biting the fingernails, smoking, or drinking.

Sigmund Freud’s Psychosexual Development Theory - Assignment Example

According to Carl Gustav Jung, who did not agree with Freud about girls too experiencing the Oedipus complex, girls experience Electra conflict and suffer from a penis envy. According to Freud, a boy is more attracted towards his mother and the daughter is attracted towards her father at this stage, and both dislike the same-sex parent.

Most children throughout this age form same sex friendships and play in a manner that is non-sexual. Ego[ edit ] In order for people to maintain a realistic sense here on earth, the ego is responsible for creating balance between pleasure and pain.

Not as daft as it sounds. It gets much satisfaction from putting all sorts of things in its mouth to satisfy the libido, and thus its id demands. His theory of psychosexual development focuses on the effects of sexual pleasure on one's psyche.

It is in this third infantile development stage that children become aware of their bodies, the bodies of other children, and the bodies of their parents; they gratify physical curiosity by undressing and exploring each other and their genitals, and so learn the physical sexual differences between "male" and "female" and the gender differences between "boy" and "girl".

Fixation in the anal stage can lead to anal-retention or anal-expulsion. Freud's book describes three main topics in reference to sexuality: Unresolved psychosexual competition for the opposite-sex parent might produce a phallic-stage fixation leading a girl to become a woman who continually strives to dominate men viz.

There are many times so Although both the id and the ego are unconscious, the ego has close contact with the perceptual system. If a child becomes fixated during this phase, the result could be sexual deviance or a confused sexual identity.

Psychoanalysis was founded by Sigmund Freud Based on this dream, Freud went on to propose that a major function of dreams was the fulfillment of wishes.

Sigmund Freud’s Psychosexual Development Theory Essay

However, Freud thought this unimportant, believing in only a qualitative difference between people. He wanted to demonstrate how the study of psychoanalysis is important in the understanding of the growth of civilization.Unlike Freud’s theory of psychosexual stages, Erikson’s theory describes the impact of social experience across the whole lifespan.

Psychosexual Stages

Let's compare and contrast these two theories by looking at some of the key similarities and differences at each stage. The concept of psychosexual development, as envisioned by Sigmund Freud at the end of the nineteenth and the beginning of the twentieth century, is a central element in the theory of psychology.

It consists of five separate phases: oral, anal, phallic, latency, and genital. Freud's five stages of development essentially showcase how sexuality starts from a very young age in humans, and how it develops till adulthood at different stages.

If these stages are not completed or are unsatisfied, a person may get fixated, which may lead to a conflicted personality in the adulthood. Sigmund Freud was a supporter of Erikson’s psychosocial theory and thus his theory is similar to the latter’s albeit several differences.

The two psychologists both believed that a human’s development occurs in a series of predetermined stages. Sigmund Freud is considered to be the father of psychiatry.

Psychosexual development

Among his many accomplishments is, arguably, the most far-reaching personality schema in psychology: the Freudian theory of personality. It has been the focus of many additions, modifications, and various interpretations given to its core points.

This is the last stage of Freud's psychosexual theory of personality development and begins in puberty. It is a time of adolescent sexual experimentation, the successful resolution of which is settling down in a loving one-to-one relationship with another person in our 20's.

The stages of sigmund s freud theory
Rated 4/5 based on 72 review